Update on Travel Restrictions to the United States

Updated March 13, 2020

For the most current information regarding COVID-19, the March 11 Presidential proclamation, and its impact on travel to the United States, please visit www.dhs.gov and www.whitehouse.gov/.  You will find information about President Trump’s March 11 proclamation regarding the travel restrictions on foreign nationals who have been in the Schengen zone.

The restrictions do not apply to U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents and (generally) immediate family members of U.S. citizens.  The Department of Homeland Security has announced that U.S. citizens who have been in the Schengen zone in the last 14 days may only be permitted to arrive at select airports in order to facilitate enhanced screenings.  Visit www.dhs.gov for more information.  As of March 13, 2020, those airports are:

  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York;
  • Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois;
  • San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California;
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA), Washington;
  • Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii;
  • Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), California;
  • Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia;
  • Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia;
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey;
  • Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas;
  • Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan;
  • Boston Logan International Airport(BOS), Massachusetts; and
  • Miami International Airport (MIA), Florida.

For health information regarding COVID-19, you will find the most up-to-date information on the Centers for Disease Control’s website CDC.gov and the Greek health ministry’s website at https://eody.gov.gr/tag/en/