Health Alert:  U.S. Embassy Athens – update on travel restrictions

  • U.S. citizens residing in the United States are currently not permitted to enter Greece for non-essential travel, which includes tourism, unless you have an EU passport or meet one of the very narrow exceptions detailed on the Greek Embassy in Washington, DC’s posted information on entrance into the European Union/Schengen Area.  There is no projected date as to when entry will be permitted.
  • The Embassy cannot request special exceptions to the travel restrictions.  You must contact the nearest Greek Embassy or consulate if you believe you have a compelling travel reason.
  • EU passport holders are allowed entry, including permanent residents of Schengen countries, plus Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway, Romania, Switzerland,  Ireland and the UK.  Non-EU passport holders with EU permanent residence permits may enter Greece.  Contact the Greek Embassy in the country of your residence to verify your residency documents will permit you to enter Greece.
  • On July 16, the European Union Council recommended a list of non-EU countries whose residents may be permitted to enter the EU.  The United States is NOT on this list.  If you RESIDE in one of these countries, contact the Greek Embassy in the country of your residence to verify that your documents will permit you to enter Greece.
  • You may not travel from the United States to a country on the EU Council’s list to get around the travel restrictions.  You must meet one of the exception categories listed above.

Please monitor our COVID-19 page for the latest travel information. 


U.S. Embassy Athens 

+(30) 210-721-2951


U.S. Consulate General Thessaloniki

+(30) 2310-376-300 


State Department – Consular Affairs

(888) 407-4747 or (202) 501-4444


Greece Country Information

Enroll in the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP) to receive security updates

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter